MASP Logo

If you or someone you know are feeling suicidal, please call 1-800-273-TALK(8255) now!
This is a 24-hour crisis-line devoted specifically to suicide prevention and it connects you to someone in your local area.
MASP does not provide crisis counseling.


Search Our Site:


 

MASP Facebook Page


Suicide Prevention Lifeline Logo

County Suicide Coalitions


Thanks to Pat Smith of MDCH and Ellen Pare of Macomb County Community Mental Health, here is our list of Michigan counties with suicide prevention coalitions. Coalition members include local advocates, mental health professionals, government officials, and survivors who are all committed to addressing and preventing suicide in their local areas. Some coalitions cover more than one county.


Click on a county name below and the page will move to the correct listing.

Alger Charlevoix Hillsdale Livingston Montcalm St. Clair
Allegan Chippewa Huron Luce Muskegon St. Joseph
Alpena Clinton Iron Mackinac Newaygo Tuscola
Antrim Crawford Jackson Macomb Oakland Van Buren
Arenac Delta Kalkaska Marquette Oceana Washtenaw
Bay Dickinson Kalamazoo Mason Roscommon Wexford
Benzie Eaton Kent Menominee Saginaw
Berrien Emmet Lake Midland Sanilac
Branch Grand Traverse Leelanau Missaukee Schoolcraft
Cass Gratiot Lenawee Monroe Shiawassee

Coalition Leaders: Please e-mail us if you have corrections (subject: coalition correction).

Potential Visitors: If you have never attended a coalition meeting, it may help to speak with the contact person listed for your desired location first to learn more about the coalition, whether meetings are open or closed, and what to expect.


Alger, Luce, Marquette & Schoolcraft Counties

Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians
Barb Smutek  *  bsmutek@saulttribe.net  *  906.635.8629
Marquette County: mqtsuicidepreventioncoalition@gmail.com
PO Box 41 * Skandia, MI 49885 * 906.360.3045


Allegan County

Mimi Gabriel  *  mgabriel@acuw.org  *  269.673.6545 x12
Jane Elzerman  *  jaelz@aghosp.com  *  269.686.4105


Alpena County

Pamela Lloyd-Gorski  *  pamlg@i2k.com  *  989.354.9104


Antrim, Benzie, Grand Traverse, Kalkaska & Leelanau Counties

Micki Jannazzo  *  mjannazzo@thirdlevel.org  *  231.922.4802


Arenac & Bay Counties

Ellen Albrecht  *  ealbrecht@babha.org  *  989.895.2300


Berrien, Cass & St. Joseph Counties

Trent Watford  *  trentwatford@gmail.com  *  269.428.7226


Branch County

Bruce Sweet  *  517.279.8404


Charlevoix & Emmet Counties

Andrew Sahara, PhD  *  asahara@norcocmh.org  *  231.347.6701


Chippewa County

Dr. Barbara Weber  *  weber1222@sbcglobal.net  *  906.635.7270
Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians
Barb Smutek  *  bsmutek@saulttribe.net  *  906.635.8629


Clinton County

Christian McDaniel  *  mcdaniec@ceicmh.org  *  989.224.5300
Debby Kloosterman *  klooster@edzone.net  *  517.668.0185


Crawford and Roscommon Counties

Nicole Ellens  *  Nicole.ellens@nlcmh.org  *  989.366.1105


Delta County

Ann Buchler  *  abuchler@dsnet.us  *  906.399.4950
Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians
Barb Smutek  *  bsmutek@saulttribe.net  *  906.635.8629


Dickinson County

Tina Tappy  *  teetappy@charter.net  *  906.774.0273


Eaton County

Polly Brainerd  *  pbrainerd@eatonisd.org  *  517.541.8939


Gratiot County

Bob Radaz  *  bradaz@gccmha.org  *  989.466.4163


Hillsdale County

David King  *  david.king@lifewayscmh.org  *  517.796.4519


Huron County

Kathie Harrison  *  kathie@huroncmh.org  *  989.269.0373


Iron County

Bill Reid  *  breid@nbhs.org  *  906.779.0637


Jackson County

David King  *  david.king@lifewayscmh.org  *  517.796.4519


Kalamazoo County

Guy Golomb  *  ggolomb@gryphon.org  *  269.381.1510


Kent County

Barbara Hawkins-Palmer  *  barb.hawkins-palmer@kentcountymi.gov  *  616.632.7281


Lake, Mason & Oceana Counties

Jim Thomas  *  JimT@wmcmhs.org  *  231.843.5431


Lenawee County

Kathryn Szewczuk  *  KSzewczuk@LCMHA.org  *  517.263.8905


Livingston County

Leslie Hall  *  lhall@cmhliv.org  *  517.546.4126 x580   co.livingston.mi.us/hscb/suicideprevention/default.htm


Mackinac County

Ann Belonga  *  abbelonga@sault.com  *  906.643.8442
Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians
Barb Smutek  *  bsmutek@saulttribe.net  *  906.635.8629
LIFT (Lucas Izzard Foundation for Teens)
Lisa Burnside  *  906.484.2298


Macomb County

Gary Burnett  *  gary.burnett@mccmh.net  *  586.948.6104


Menominee County

Dan McVane  *  brmcvdan@gmail.com  *  715.735.9820


Midland County

Kathy Dollard  *  kdollard@cmhcm.org  *  989.837.0708


Missaukee & Wexford Counties

Ken Nydam  *  ken.nydam@nlcmh.org  *  231.876.3280


Monroe County

Larry Csokasy  *  larry.csokasy@mercymemorial.org  *  734.240.1770


Montcalm County

Penny Dora  *  pdora@maisd.com  *  616.225.6136


Muskegon County

Cindy Mahan  *  mahan@cmhs.co.muskegon.mi.us  *  231.724.6639


Newaygo County

Mike Geoghan  *  mgeoghan@newaygocmh.org  *  231.689.7330


Oakland County

James Perlaki  *  jperlaki@commongroundhelps.org  *  248.451.3738  *  Oakland County Suicide Prevention Coalition


Saginaw County

Nancy Johnson  *  njohnson@sccmha.org  *  989.797.3546
Webmaster  *  webmaster@saginawsuicideprevention.org  saginawsuicideprevention.org


Sanilac County

Nancy Dean  *  ndean@sanilaccmh.org  *  888.580.5437


Shiawassee County

Penny Corbin *  pcorbin@shiacmh.org  *  989.723.0709  *  shiacmh.org/suicide.htm


St. Clair County

Amy Smith  *  asmith@scccmh.org  *  810.966.7830  scccmh.org/suicideprevention.cfm


Tuscola County

Susan Walker  * susaneawalker@yahoo.com  *  989.550.8283


Van Buren County

Liz Courtney  *  lcourtney@vbcmh.com  *  269.655.3341


Washtenaw County

Michelle Rose Armstrong  *  michellerosearmstrong@gmail.com  *  734.368.1114  washtenawalive.org/prevention-plan-and-reports